Carthage’s Faith Kruebbe earned Most Valuable Player honors, and the Lady Bulldogs added three other superlatives with the release of the District 17-4A All-District Volleyball Team for the 2021 season.

Makhai Lewis of Carthage shared Offensive MVP honors with Kaycee Johnson of Rusk. Carthage’s Sadie Smith was named Setter of the Year, and Dawn Stewart earned Coach of the Year accolades.

Other top honors went to Defensive MVP Rylie Schwab of Palestine, Blocker of the Year Monique Thompson of Palestine and Newcomer of the Year Hadley Kelly of Rusk.

Voting was conducted by the league’s coaches.

First TeamCarthage: Jakyra Roberts, Mara Hodges, Taylynn Williams; Center: Gracie Whisenant, Aniyah Boykins; Rusk: Faith Long, Sarah Boudreaux; Jasper: Jakayla Brown; Palestine: Jan’Aa Johnson, Hannah Holmes.

Second TeamCarthage: Erin Dodge, Jaycee Page, Jacie Bagley; Palestine: Savannah Alder, Ju’Mija Clewis; Rusk: Kara Wofford; Center: May Johnson, Kiana Hubbard; Jasper: Kalani Sells, Riley Shumake.

Honorable MentionCarthage: Heaven Ingram, Za’Kyra Myers, Lundy Dutton; Palestine: Kyi’Marri Ester; Center: Americus Sparks, Alli Stuever; Jasper: Madison Smith, Roya Adams, Kiarra Sells.

Academic All-DistrictCarthage: Erin Dodge, Faith Kruebbe, Makhai Lewis, Jaycee Page, Sadie Smith, Lundy Dutton, Mara Hodges, Jakyra Roberts, Talynn Williams, Zakyra Myers, Jaycee Bagley; Palestine: Kelsey Grayson, Chimsi Okonkwo, Rylie Schwab, Jaylah Spurlock, Savanna Alder; Ju’Mija Clewis, Kyi’Marri Ester, Natalie Guillen, Hannah Holmes, Monique Thompson; Center: Aniyah Boykins, Kaylee Cox, Kaiya Hubbard, Alli Steuver, Gracie Whisenant; Jasper: Natalie Barbay, Chasity Furlow, Jaleiah McDougal, Kalani Sells, Kiarra Sells, Ka’Dence Traylor, Marissa Williams; Rusk: Faith Long, Makenna Burkhalter, Kara Wofford, Lexie Stanley, Jazz Blankenship.

Follow Jack Stallard on Twitter: @lnjsports

Recommended for You

Follow Jack Stallard on Twitter: @lnjsports

Sports editor

I've covered sports in East Texas since 1987, starting as a 21-year-old sports editor at the Kilgore News Herald before spending seven years at the Lufkin Daily News and the past 23 years at the Longview News-Journal.