From Staff Reports

Host team Pine Tree placed three players on the All-Tournament Team following action at the Pirate Invitational over the weekend.

Whitehouse and Palestine tied at 1-1 and were declared co-champions of the tournament after the game was called due to lightning as regular time expired and penalty kicks were about to begin.

Pine Tree’s Edgar Bocanegra (3 goals), Aaron Bocanegra (2 goals) and Luis Alba (1 goal) were named to the All-Tournament Team.

Other all-tournament selections included Kilgore’s Tony Salinas, Adrian Estrella and Leo Yzaguirre, Palestine’s Richo Avila, Johan Hagberg, Tony Garcia and Ian Garcia, Whitehouse’s Landon Elliot, Mark Garcia, Luke Neely and Javi Gonzalez, Carthage’s Adrian Lopez and Demarian Delaney, Athens’ Anthony Ariciaga and Kevin Rodriguez and Lindale’s Will Locknane.

Recommended for You


Sports editor

I've covered sports in East Texas since 1987, starting as a 21-year-old sports editor at the Kilgore News Herald before spending seven years at the Lufkin Daily News and the past 23 years at the Longview News-Journal.