Tatum’s Kendric Malone, who helped lead the Eagles to a trip to the Class 3A state title game, earned Most Valuable Player honors with the release of the District 16-3A All-District Basketball Team for 2020-21.

Malone averaged 14 points and five assists per game for the Eagles. He shot 47% from the field, 36% from 3-point range and 78% from the free throw line.

Other superlative honors went to Tatum’s Jayden Boyd (Offensive MVP), Tatum’s Decartiyay Allison and Jefferson’s Chris Shepard (Defensive MVP), Troup’s Trae Davis (Newcomer of the Year) and Tatum’s Brett Carr (Coach of the Year).

Selections were made by the district’s coaches.

First TeamTatum: Ty Bridges, Dalone Fuller, Kendall Williams; Arp: Colton Birdsong, Johnathon Blackwell, Zachariah Mauldin; Jefferson: Jakardon Davidson, Carlos Jackson, Josh Thomas; Troup: Matthew Castillo, Bracy Cover; West Rusk: Torami Dixon.

Second TeamTatum: Markendrick Beall, Hayden Crowley, Trey Fite; Arp: Elijah Mauldin, Kadaylon Williams; Elysian Fields: Campbell White; Harleton: Carter Taft; Jefferson: C.J. Bowman; Troup: Clayton Vickers; Waskom: D.J. Feaster, Carter Watson; West Rusk: Jaxon Farqhuar, Andon Mata.

Honorable MentionTatum: Aidan Anthony, Drake Walton; Arp: A.J. Arrington, Michael Brager, Blake Florence; Troup: Blake Wood; West Rusk: Jimmie Harper; Waskom: Jayvis Jones, Paxton Keeling, Daylan Perry, Zay Thomas; West Rusk: Carson Martin, Geremiah Smith.

Academic All-DistrictTatum: Decartiyay Allison, Aidan Anthony, Jayden Boyd, Trey Fite, Dalone Fuller, Kendric Malone, Kendall Williams; Arp: A.J. Arrington, Colton Birdsong, Michael Brager, Elijah Martin, Zachariah Mauldin, Kadaylon Williams; Troup: Matthew Castillo, Bracey Cover, Easton Haugeberg, Kayden Nelson, Clayton Vickers; Waskom: Chase Giddings, Trent Higginbotham, Carter Watson; West Rusk: Andon Mata, Jaxon Farquhar

Recommended for You

Follow Jack Stallard on Twitter: @lnjsports

Sports editor

I've covered sports in East Texas since 1987, starting as a 21-year-old sports editor at the Kilgore News Herald before spending seven years at the Lufkin Daily News and the past 23 years at the Longview News-Journal.