From Staff Reports

State finalist Linden-Kildare earned three superlatives and placed four players on the first team with the release of the District 17-2A All-District Baseball Team for 2019.

Evan Barron of James Bowie earned overall Most Valuable Player honors. Other superlatives went to Linden-Kildare’s Nic Kunze and Rivercrest’s Baylor Augustus (Offensive MVP), Linden-Kildare’s Dalton Alford and James Bowie’s Dalton McBride (Defensive MVP), Maud’s Cade Townsend and Payton Windham (Pitcher of the Year), James Bowie’s Garrett Brown and Maud’s Tucker Sanders (Newcomer of the Year) and the Linden-Kildare coaching staff.

Voting was conducted by the district’s coaches.


Pitcher: Trent Wert, Linden-Kildare; Jacob Owen, Linden-Kildare; John Grider, Rivercrest; Catcher: Duece Schuler, Linden-Kildare; Cole Hanson, Detroit; Infield: Whitt Rogers, James Bowie; Rayne Bailey, Maud; Chris Randolph, Rivercrest; Tanner Gibson, Detroit; Silas Murdock, McLeod; Carson Burden, McLeod; Outfield: Tyler Crabtree, James Bowie; Haylen Dear, Maud; Brody Moyer, Rivercrest; Mason Teere, McLeod; Caleb Cunningham, Linden-Kildare; Utility: Casey Smith, McLeod; DH: Brandon Obenoskey, James Bowie.


Pitcher: Trevor Deal, McLeod; Brian Blackburn, Maud; Ethan Pasley, Avery; Catcher: Hector Mancilla, Avery; Infield: Will Purviance, Rivercrest; D.J. Jones, Detroit; Austin Tucker, Detroit; Hunter Thomas, Maud; Outfield: Ethan Hendrix, Avery; Ethan Baggett, Avery; Mason Johnson, Linden-Kildare; Evan Williams, James Bowie; Will Grider, Rivercrest; Utility: Ethan Armstrong, McLeod; Cason Braily, James Bowie; Hunter Crenshaw, Linden-Kildare.


Linden-Kildare: Chase Bynum; Colt Neville