Kilgore College journalism students picked up 21 awards during the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association annual competition and convention March 13 through 16 at the Omni Corpus Christi Hotel.

In live competition, Catie Denfeld and Jamie Hwang took first place in two-person photo essay. Hwang also won first place in News Photography and The Flare staff received third place in Best of Show for midsized colleges at the event.

■ In Previously Published – Open Division, The Flare received a first place in Special Edition Design Online for its Christmas 2018 edition.

■ Lucas Strough and Grant Worley received an honorable mention for Yearbook Cover Design in the Open Category.

In the other categories, Kilgore College competed in Division 3 (of five), and received the following awards for work submitted from the Spring and Fall 2018 semesters:

■ First place for Adriana Cisneros Emerson in Op/Ed Page Design

■ First place for Allison Taliaferro in Feature Page Design

■ Second place for Catie Denfield in Breaking News Photo

■ Second place for Lonnie Ross in Photo Illustration

■ Second place for Rahsaan Sheppard in Sports Game Story

■ Second place for Lucas Strough in General Column

■ Second place for Allison Taliaferro in Op/Ed Page Design

■ Second place for Grant Worley in Feature Photo

■ Second place for Grant Worley in Environmental Portrait

■ Third place for Catie Denfeld in Feature photo

■ Third place for Catie Denfeld in Cover Design: Newspaper

■ Third place for Travis Noriega in Illustration

■ Third place for Alec Reyes in Sports Page Design

■ Third place for Allison Taliaferro and Lucas Strough in Special Design Print

■ Third place for Grant Worley, Liza Latham, Lucas Strough, Tiffany Johnson and Andrea Jimenez in Photo Story

■ Third place for The Flare in Overall Design

In the Previously Published Competition, except in “Open Division,” The Flare competed against Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi, Texas A&M University-Kingsville, Amarillo College, Angelo State, Brookhaven College, Eastfield College, University of Houston-Clear Lake, Tarleton State-JTAC, Tarleton State-Texan News and University of Texas at Tyler.

Rachel Stallard is adviser of The Flare. Photography instructor is O. Rufus Lovett.

TIPA is the oldest state collegiate press association in the nation and has grown into one of the largest and most respected collegiate groups in the country.