LeTourneau University sophomore biology major Benjamin Tebbe-Trujillo has been accepted to participate in the Texas Joint Admission Medical Program (JAMP), which guarantees acceptance into one of the nine medical schools in Texas once he completes his undergraduate degree.

With admission into JAMP, he will begin his medical school education this summer with his first medical school internship. The program also helps with mentoring and personal assistance to prepare for medical school.

Upon completion of the program, Tebbe-Trujillo will have interviews at all nine of the medical schools in Texas, with guaranteed acceptance into at least one.

“In the past four years, every one of our LETU pre-med majors who has met all the JAMP program requirements has gained acceptance into the Joint Admission Medical Program,” LETU professor and chair of the biology department Dr. Greg Frederick said. “This is a statistic few, if any, other universities can claim.”

Tebbe-Trujillo grew up in South America where he saw great need in health care overseas, which encouraged him to pursue a career as a medical doctor.

“Traveling extensively opened my eyes to both the lack of competent doctors and the impact on countless lives a committed doctor can have,” Tebbe-Trujillo said.

“At LeTourneau, I was introduced to subjects such as organic chemistry, and anatomy and physiology, all of which offered new ways to understand the beauty of life,” Tebbe-Trujillo said. “Learning to combine science with interpersonal skills to serve patients motivates me to join the medical field.”

Created by the Legislature in 2001 and funded through the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, JAMP was designed to support and encourage highly qualified, economically disadvantaged students to pursue medical degrees. Medical schools include Baylor College of Medicine; Texas A&M University, College of Medicine; Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, School of Medicine, Lubbock Campus; Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso, Paul L. Foster School of Medicine; the University of North Texas Health Science Center/Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine; The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston – McGovern Medical School; Long School of Medicine, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio; The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston; and the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas.