Pine Tree High recognized by student council group

Pine Tree High School has been recognized by the Texas Association of Student Council in the areas of Outstanding Student Council; Drugs, Alcohol, Safety and Health, Energy and Environment; Pride and Patriotism and Community Service.

The council was awarded Sweepstakes Council. Sweepstakes Councils must be recognized as an Outstanding Student Council and receive outstanding in Drugs, Alcohol, Safety and Health; Pride and Patriotism, and Energy and Environment in addition to submitting a community service project.

TASC is a non-profit serving high school and middle level student councils in Texas. Sponsored by the Texas Association of Secondary School Principals, its purposes are to develop leadership abilities in students, promote democracy as a way of life, and uphold high standards for local councils. With almost 1200 member schools, it is the largest state student leadership organization in the United States.

Marshall ISD announces district teachers of the year

Lisa Christopher, first-grade teacher at Price T. Young Elementary School, and Skylyn Potts, biology teacher at Marshall High School, have been selected as the 2019 Marshall ISD district teachers of the year.

The two educators will be officially presented to the MISD board of trustees during the regular May school board meeting next week.

Christopher is the elementary school teacher of the year, while Potts is the secondary school teacher of the year. Both will serve as MISD’s nominees for Region 7 teacher of the year this summer.

Both Christopher and Potts were named as their respective campus teachers of the year in April. A committee of MISD administrators then selected their applications and merits with a rubric scoring system to rank the candidates who applied for district teacher of the year to represent MISD in the Region 7 teacher of the year process.

From staff reports