Upshur County has extended its outdoor burn ban.

The county enacted the ban Aug. 30, and County Judge Todd Tefteller extended the order Wednesday until Oct. 16 unless commissioners choose to act sooner.

Upshur joins Gregg, Rusk, Harrison, Marion, Cass, and Smith counties in enacting outdoor burn bans.

The counties are among 176 of the state’s 254 counties under burn bans, according to a Wednesday update from the Texas A&M Forest Service.