Tuesday, November 21, 2017

Advertise with us

Longview's Hawkins, Bartley, King honored on 11-5A team

From Staff Reports
Dec. 10, 2011 at 11 p.m.

Longview receiver Eric Hawkins, defensive back Cory Bartley and coach John King were honored with superlatives recently with the release of the District 11-5A All-District Football Team for 2011.

Hawkins a University of Arkansas verbal pledge who caught 41 passes for 994 yards and 10 touchdowns, was named the league's Offensive MVP.

Bartley, a junior who finished with 110 tackles, five tackles for losses, three forced fumbles, a fumble recovery, six passes broken up and two blocked punts, was the league's top defensive newcomer.

King earned Coach of the Year honors after leading the Lobos to the district championship and an 11-2 record. King is 91-19 at Longview since taking over in 2004, including a 43-1 record in district play.

Bartley and King were unanimous selections.

Other superlatives went to Mesquite Horn's Devante Harris (MVP), Mesquite's Alex Cooper (offensive newcomer) and DeSoto's Michael Richardson (Defensive MVP).

The all-district team was selected by the league's coaches.


Quarterback: Bivins Caraway, Longview; Running back: J'Haston Faggans, Longview; Dontre Wilson, DeSoto; Devin Rushing, DeSoto; Junion Session, Mesquite; Fullback: Deontre Wilson, Longview; Receiver: D.T. Jackson, Longview; Rashard Higgins, Mesquite; Ricky Daniels, DeSoto; Branden Myles, North Mesquite; Kavaski Ervin, Mesquite; Tight end: Vincent Hobbs, Mesquite Horn; Line: Warren Lemons, Longview; Jhermikal Partner, Longview; Curtis Riser, DeSoto; Conner Grooms, Tyler Lee; Sergio Phillips, DeSoto; Daniel Mafileo, Mesquite; Zacchaeus Page, Tyler Lee; Kicker: Travis Tamez, Mesquite Horn.


Line: Cornelius Williams, Longview; Larry Thomas, Longview; Denzel Murphy, DeSoto; Colton King, Mesquite Horn; Courtlin Davis, DeSoto; Donovan Parker, North Mesquite; Nick Bowers, Mesquite; Will Coleman, Longview; Inside linebacker: Demarkus Lathan, Longview; D.J. Green, Mesquite Horn; Taylor Young, DeSoto; Austin Campbell, Tyler Lee; Justin Owens, North Mesquite; Outside linebacker: Jordan Burton, Longview; Richard Jones, Mesquite Horn; Traa Strong, Mesquite; Alex Lyons, DeSoto; Safety: Charles Grant, Mesquite; Nick Orr, DeSoto; Jac'Quenten Young, North Mesquite; Emanuel Harston, Mesquite Horn; Cornerback: Bryson Echols, DeSoto; Jalen mills, DeSoto; Terence Braziel, Mesquite Horn; Anthony Canady, Mesquite; Justin Backus, North Mesquite; Punter: Farid Olalde, North Mesquite; Return specialist: Dontre Wilson, DeSoto.


Quarterback: Destri White, Mesquite Horn; Running back: Marcus White, Tyler Lee; Demarcus Luke, North Mesquite; Treyvon Marsh, Mesquite Horn; Fullback: Medgar Coleman, Mesquite Horn; Aneas Sutton, Tyler Lee; Receiver: Ridge Jones, DeSoto; Travis Jones, North Mesquite; Dameon Gamblin, Mesquite; Brian O'Bannon, Mesquite Horn; Jordan Richardson, Tyler Lee; Tight End: Braden King, Longview; Line: Donavan Webb, Longview; Jose Salinas, North Mesquite; Josh Aleman, Mesquite Horn; Erick Wren, Mesquite Horn; Emmanuel Cross, DeSoto; Devonta Leary, DeSoto; John Meriwether, Mesquite; Luis Vigil, Mesquite; Kicker: Israel Madrid, Longview.


Line: Jalen Porter, Longview; George Polk, Longview; Ryan Sternes, DeSoto; Derek Lockett, North Mesquite; Kalen Elia, Mesquite Horn; Ben Taylor, Mesquite; Ronnie Jones, Mesquite; Kasai Equere, DeSoto; Inside linebacker: Aaron Brashear, Longview; Joey Owens, North Mesquite; Jalen Montgomery, Mesquite; Nick Lovett, Mesquite Horn; Outside linebacker: Justin Kelly, Mesquite Horn; Marlin Simmons, Mesquite; Chris Cook, Tyler Lee; Tray Thornton, DeSoto; Darik Walker, North Mesquite; Safety: Stephon Maxey, Longview; Vondrick Jackson, DeSoto; Thomas Oberg, North Mesquite; Cornerback: Kania Brown, Longview; Davatric Cooks, Longview; Ladarrell Smith, Tyler Lee; Jericho Evans, North Mesquite; Punter: Travis Tamez, Mesquite Horn; Return specialist: Branden Myles, North Mesquite.


Longview: Tory White (running back), Colin Jeter (tight end), Vernon Hutchinson (offensive line), Torean Sheppard (inside linebacker), Jaylan Lawson (cornerback), Adam Mack (punter); Jordan Burton (return specialist).



Powered By AdvocateDigitalMedia