Tuesday, September 26, 2017

Advertise with us

Ten East Texas players make Class 2A All-State Baseball Team

From Staff Reports
July 24, 2012 at 10:46 a.m.

Hughes Springs sophomore Dylan Moore, a 14-game winner for the 26-5 Mustangs, earned second team honors on Tuesday with the release of the Texas Sports Writers Association/Collin Street Bakery Class 2A All-State Baseball Team.

Area players claimed a total of 10 spots on the team, which is chosen by sports writers from around the state.

Moore went 14-2 with a 1.40 earned run average, two saves, 92 strikeouts and 17 walks in 69 innings.

Also honored on Tuesday were second team outfielder Cody Hawkins of Hughes Springs (.466, 17 RBIs, 39 runs scored, 12 doubles) and honorable mention pitchers Quincy Clements of Jefferson (9-2, 1.68 ERA, 127 strikeouts, 58.1 innings pitched) and Skyler Mathis of Elysian Fields (9-3, 1.27 ERA, 103 strikeouts, 76 innings pitched; .328, 15 RBIs), honorable mention catcher Gage Meshell of Harleton (.538, five home runs, 31 RBIs), honorable mention shortstops Jansen McCurdy of White Oak (.408, 10 doubles, three triples, three home runs, 31 RBIs, 22 stolen bases, 36 runs scored) and Trenton Shelton of Hughes Springs (.500, 38 runs scored, five doubles, 18 RBIs, 13 stolen bases) and honorable mention outfielders Ryan Brightwell of New Diana (.423, two home runs, four doubles, 27 runs scored, 20 RBIs), Colin Rosser of New Diana (.514, 10 doubles, one home run, 13 RBIs, 16 stolen bases) and Jabe Martin of Harleton (.411, 14 RBIs, 37 runs scored, 13 stolen bases).

Morgan Cooper of Jarrell, who went 13-0 on the mound for the Class 2A state champions, was named player of the year. Jarrell's Dean Fitzner was the coach of the year.



Powered By AdvocateDigitalMedia