Saturday, October 21, 2017

Advertise with us

Candidates to meet in Henderson political forum

By Angela Ward
May 13, 2012 at 10 p.m.

The Henderson Chamber of Commerce will sponsor a forum tonight in which candidates for all contested races in Rusk County will have a chance to share their platforms, said executive director Judy Sewell.

"This is something we've done for the past several elections and it has proven to be very popular with residents of the county," Sewell said.

The most highly contested race in Rusk County is for sheriff. Current Sheriff Danny Pirtle has announced he will not seek re-election.

Seven men - six Republicans and one Democrat - have filed for the office.

Other contested races are for constables in precincts 2, 4 and 5; for county attorney; and for state representative.

Elected officials who are not up for election in 2012, or who are running unopposed, have been invited to meet people but will not take part in the official forum, she said.

"We'll start off with 30 minutes of meet-and-greet, where people can just wander around and converse with the candidates and officials," Sewell said. "After that, we'll have a forum in which candidates will present their platforms, answer questions from a moderator and then make closing remarks."

Questions from the audience will not be accepted at the forum, but may be submitted to the chamber in advance, she said. People will also have a chance ask questions of candidates during the meet-and-greet part of the event.

Candidates who have said they plan to attend the forum are:

<strong>For Sheriff:</strong> Ron E. Duncan Jr., Jeff M. Price, Darryl Norris, Billy Turner Jr., Cecil West and Charlie Williamson, all Republicans; and Oscar W. Still, Democrat.

<strong>For Constable Pct. 2:</strong> Benjamin T. Ferrell and Elton W. Brock, both Republicans.

<strong>For Constable Pct. 4:</strong> Arthur David Roberts III and David P. Guy, both Republicans

<strong>For Constable Pct. 5:</strong> Jimmy E. Skinner and Michael Wayne Isabell, both Republicans.

<strong>For County Attorney:</strong> Allison Biggs and Micheal Jimerson, both Republicans.

<strong>For State Representative:</strong> Travis Clardy, Chuck Hopson and Tony Savilla, all Republicans.

The event will begin at 5:30 p.m. tonight at the Henderson Civic Center. Anyone with questions for the candidates, or who wants more information about the event, may contact Sewell at (903) 657-5528.



Powered By AdvocateDigitalMedia