Monday, October 23, 2017

Advertise with us

Kilgore tops 32-4A soccer selections

From Staff Reports
April 20, 2013 at 11 p.m.

J.D. Perales, who broke his own school record for shutouts in a season with 16 in helping lead Kilgore to a fourth straight regional tournament appearance, earned overall Most Valuable Player honors with the release of the District 32-4A All-District Soccer Team.

Kilgore's Aaron Erickson was named Coach of the Year in the district, and the Bulldogs' Christian Perales was the league's Newcomer of the Year.

Pine Tree's Seth Graves earned Defensive MVP honors, while other superlatives went to Christian Olague of Henderson (offensive MVP) and the Hallsville trio of Jamil Young (sophomore of the year), Arturo Rodriguez (utility) and Jordan Edgar (top goalie).

Pine Tree won the district's sportsmanship award.

Kilgore won the district title and finished the season 22-4-4, defeating Athens (3-0), Pittsburg (2-1 in OT), John Tyler (2-1) and Ennis (3-0) to reach the regional tournament. The Bulldogs blanked Frisco Wakeland (1-0) in the regional semifinals, but dropped a 1-0 decision to Mesquite Poteet in the championship match.

Voting was conducted by the district's coaches.

<strong>FIRST TEAM</strong>

Christian Jordan, Juan Paz, Christian Gill and Jared Jimenez, Pine Tree; Jaime Jimenez, Spring Hill; Merek Reyes and Diago Vences, Marshall; Benito Bustos, Alexes Torres, Andrew Espinosa, Christian Garcia and Collin Nutt, Kilgore; Seth Krider, Dalton Heinsohn and Alan Alverado, Hallsville; Alex Jaime, Henderson.

<strong>SECOND TEAM</strong>

Gabriel Vasquez, Israel Maceda, Fernando Magana and Kevin Jimenez, Pine Tree; Jose Rico and Trevor Garrett, Kilgore; Moises Nunez and Arturo Benitez, Marshall; Luis Oliveris and Josey Ortiz, Hallsville; Deryk Camazine and Damin Moss, Henderson.

<strong>HONORABLE MENTION</strong>

Pine Tree: True Clark; Kilgore: Livan Torres, Omar Torres, Hector Peralez; Spring Hill: Gregory Dyer, Eric Jimenez, Darron Troy, Chase Rouse; Henderson: Bennett Sheperd, Logan Morris, Brandon Resendiz, Sergio Cervantes, Jair Garcia and Andres Cabrerra; Hallsville: Landon Herron, Gustavo lilly and Mikel Martinez; Marshall: Eric Saucedo, Silvaro Rios, Luis Malvin, Kevin Nioyola, Andrew Niyola and Mitchell Leonard; Carthage: Roberto Jimenez.

<strong>ACADEMIC ALL-DISTRICT</strong>

Pine Tree: Christian Gill; Henderson: Christian Olague, Bennett Sheperd, Deryk Camazine, Sergio Cervantes, Logan Morris, Andres Cabrera and Isaac Quintanilla; Hallsville: Alan Alvarado, Seth Krider, Landon Herron and Mikel Martinez; Carthage: Ethan Rymel, Kenny Spradley, Robby Cox and Dustin Jacks.



Powered By AdvocateDigitalMedia