Sunday, September 24, 2017

Advertise with us

Pine Tree's Thompson finishes first in Hallsville meet

From Staff Reports
Aug. 31, 2013 at 11 p.m.

Pine Tree's Brian Thompson recorded a time of 16:30 to win the second annual Hallsville Cross Country Invitational on Saturday morning at Lear Park.

Evan Barron placed third with a time of 16:44 to help Pine Tree finish second as a team behind Hallsville Gold.

Hallsville Gold didn't have a Top 3 finisher, but all of the Bobcats placed in the Top 15.

Ryan McKelvey led Hallsville with a fifth-place finish in a time of 17:17.

Other Hallsville Gold runners were Matt Jones, sixth, 17:24; Jake Greer, ninth, 17:44; Collin Pierson, 10th, 17:50.; Colton Anderson, 11th, 17:59; Joel Holmes, 13th, 18:10; and Matt Godwin, 15th, 18:13.

Other Pine Tree finishers were Sammy Robey, 14th, 18:11; Andy Jones, 24th, 18:53; and Katrielle Sutton, 41st, 20:07.

Hallsville Purple placed sixth as a team. Elysian Fields was 10th. Sabine placed 12th, and Spring Hill recorded a 14th-place finish.

Jacob Tomme was the top runner for Spring Hill, finishing 18th with a time of 18:16.


Pine Tree took first place behind all five runners finishing in the Top 16 of the Class 4A and 5A race.

Pine Tree's Alexis Beserra took third with a time of 21:08.

Also for the Pirates were Isabel Salvador, sixth, 22:13; Savannah Patterson, seventh, 22:24 and Kate Suits, 16th, 23:29.

Hallsville's Rachel Willis was second with a time of 21:06, and Ally Bayne took fifth with a time of 22:05.

Tyler Lee's Mary Neal won the race with a time of 20:09.

Winnsboro won the Class 1A-3A division with 63 points, led by Danielle Mabry with a time of 13:56. Spring Hill placed fourth behind Kyla Thompson's fifth-place finish with a time of 14:12.

Hawkins Invitational

HAWKINS - The Miller Grove boys and Eustace girls won the seventh annual Hawkins Cross-Country Invitational on Saturday.

Hawkins finished second on the girls' side and 10th in the boys' division. White Oak was fifth and sixth, respectively.

The top 10 finishers in the boys' race were Nathan George, Miller Grove, 17:17; Mark Zimmer, Eustace, 17:41; Kiko Parra, New Summerfield, 18:20; Hunter Rose, Eustace, 18:26; Logan Miller, Miller Grove, 18:29; Cole Sprague, North Hopkins, 18:39; Nate Campbell, Lone Oak, 18:40; Walter Ortiz, Quitman, 19:03; Clay McNeese, White Oak, 19:11; and David Smith, Gilmer, 19:16.

The Top 10 finishers in the girls' division were Hannah Nichol, Lone Oak, 12:55; Vanessa Tirado, Tatum, 13:27; Aleigh, Miller Grove, 13:38; Aylin Vazquez, Tatum, 13:48; Shelby White, Eustace, 13:54; Yadira Munot, Harmony, 13:55; Rebeccah Groth, Tyler HEAT, 13:59; Skye Burns, Eustace, 14:02; Lauren Haney, Hawkins, 14:07; and Breanna Ragan, Eustace, 14:08.



Powered By AdvocateDigitalMedia