Thursday, October 19, 2017

Advertise with us

TSWA Class A All-State football team names released

From Staff Reports
Feb. 18, 2013 at 11:44 a.m.

BRYAN - Stamford's Hagen Hutchinson and Munday's Dee Paul who led their teams to state championships head up the 62nd Annual Collin Street Bakery/Texas Sports Writers Association's Class A All-State Football Team released on Monday.

Quarterback Hutchinson was the offensive player of the year. The 184-pound senior passed for 3,038 yards with 45 touchdowns for the Division I state champs.

Defensive back Paul was the defensive player of the year. The 165-pound senior had eight interceptions with four defensive touchdowns for the Division II state champs. Paul, who also played quarterback, made the first team as an athlete after throwing for 1,579 yards and rushing for 1,960, accounting for 55 touchdowns.

Coach of the Year honors were shared by Munday's Patrick Corcoran and Stamford's Wayne Hutchinson.

The team was selected by TSWA members based on nominations from media members and coaches from around the state.

Several East Texas players were selected to the elite team, including first team offensive picks Tanner Jones of Alto (tackle) and running backs Jacolby Whitaker of Alto and Hunter Ammons of Mount Enterprise and first team defensive picks Joe Cruz (back) of Alto.

Second team selections included Tenaha offensive lineman Denzel Williams, Joaquin defensive back Wyatt Hairgrove and return specialist Ty'Aundra Taylor of San Augustine.

Earning third team status were Maud tight end Caleb Herring, Tenaha receiver Keontas Davis and Tenaha running back Chavis Gregory along with Timpson linebacker Lorenzo Young, Tenaha linebacker De'Aaron Rowland, Carlisle defensive back Shadow Sanders and Joaquin punter Nick Cheatwood.

Honorable mentions selections from East Texas were Maud Running back Richard Concleton, Joaquin's Hairgrove at running back, San Augustine running back Tony Hubbard, linebackers Clay Allphin of Carlisle, Cody Adams of James Bowie, Ammons of Mount Enterprise, X.A. Brown and Jarvis Giles of San Augustine, Devin Ervin of Detroit, Don Holly of Cayuga and Michael Taylor of Alto, defensive backs Jacolby Simpson of Grapeland and Will Vaughn of Joaquin and kicker Patrick Walker of Grapeland.



Powered By AdvocateDigitalMedia