Monday, October 23, 2017

Advertise with us

Players share top honors in TSWA Class 3A all-state football team

From Staff Reports
Feb. 20, 2013 at 11 p.m.

BRYAN - Navasota's Kadarius Baker and Stephenville's Tyler Jones shared Offensive Player of the Year honors on the 62nd Annual Collin Street Bakery/Texas Sports Writers Association's Class 3A All-State Football Team.

The 5-foot-9, 185-pound Baker threw for 4,411 yards and 55 touchdowns in leading Navasota to the Division II state title and was the first-team quarterback. Jones threw for 4,004 yards and 43 touchdowns, but also rushed for 1,013 yards with 24 touchdowns in leading Stephenville to the Division I state title. Jones made the first team as an athlete.

El Campo lineman Cole Hunt and Navasota lineman Jordan Wells shared Defensive Player of the Year honors.

Coach of the Year honors went to Lee Fedora of Navasota.

The team was selected by TSWA members based on nominations from media members and coaches from around the state.

Five East Texas players earned first-team honors, including Kilgore defensive teammates Ladarrin Anthony (line) and Benny Colbert (back). Gilmer linebacker Josh Walker, Carthage defensive back Bryian Bolton and Center running back K.J. Garrett were also first-team picks.

Earning second-team honors were Gilmer offensive lineman Brady English, Gilmer tight end Jaidon Parrish, Carthage receiver Tee Goree, Atlanta running back Corion Webster, Henderson kicker William Mann, Carthage defensive lineman Isaiah Golden, Henderson defensive lineman Bo Brady, Gilmer defensive lineman Xavier Fluellen, Kilgore linebacker A.J. Davis, Liberty-Eylau defensive back Davion Hall and Palestine defensive back Ivory Brown.

Third-team selections were Kilgore offensive guard Clay Wiley, Henderson offensive tackle Nick Siler, Bullard center Trevor Rumbelow, Carthage running back Tevin Pipkin, North Lamar running back Chance Kelley, Van defensive lineman Sid Moore, Athens linebacker K.J. Cumby, Paris punter Dakota Smith and Henderson kick returner Patrick Brown.



Powered By AdvocateDigitalMedia