Monday, September 25, 2017

Advertise with us

UIL State Baseball: Carlisle, Hughes Springs dominate all-tourney teams

By Hayden Henry
June 9, 2013 at 11 p.m.

Class A state champion Carlisle and 2A finalist Hughes Springs led their respective classes with players selected to the 2013 UIL state baseball all-tournament teams.

The teams were selected by the Texas High School Baseball Coaches Association after the state baseball tournament held this past week at Dell Diamond in Round Rock.

Zach Brightwell, Caleb Colley, Ben Goss and Shadow Sanders were selected from the Indians, who topped Weimar in eight innings before taking the Class A crown with a 6-1 win over Stamford for the first state title in Carlisle history.

Dylan Moore, Chad McKinney and Hunter Smith represented Hughes Springs, whoheld the top ranking in 2A the majority of the season and entered the state tournament with a 35-1 overall record. The Mustangs topped Bangs, 5-1, to reach the state final for the second time in school history before falling to Hallettsville, 4-2, in the championship match.

Brightwell, who earned championship game MVP honors, pitched Carlisle to the title, tossing a seven-inning, three-hit contest against Stamford. Colley finished 2-for-4 at the plate with a pair of runs scored and stolen bases. Sanders added an RBI in both games in Round Rock and pitched the final three innings against Weimar in the Indians' extra-inning win. He allowed one run on two hits and struck out three to pick up the win. Goss had three hits and an RBI in Carlisle's win over Weimar.

Moore lifted Hughes Springs to their first state final since 2006 with a nine-strikeout, three-hit, complete-game outing over Bangs in the semifinals. Out of 91 pitches for the junior, 61 were strikes. McKinney caught both games for the Mustangs and added a pair of hits and gunned down two runners on the week. Smith anchored the Hughes Springs outfield and finished the tournament with a .500 average and an RBI.

Patrick Mahomes represented Whitehouse on the 4A all-tournament team, taking top pitcher honors. The Wildcats fell to Corpus Christi Moody, 3-2, in the semifinals.

Pleasant Grove's Alex Alsup, Joe Pearlman and Dylan Silvey were named to the 3A squad. The Hawks, who reached the state tournament for the sixth-straight year, fell to La Grange, 10-2, in the title match.

Follow Hayden Henry on Twitter: @hayden_h



Powered By AdvocateDigitalMedia