Sunday, September 24, 2017

Advertise with us

Class A: Six East Texans named to TSWA All-State first team

From Staff Reports
Feb. 11, 2014 at 11:13 a.m.

Six East Texans, including three on special teams, earned first-team honors on the Collin Street Bakery/Texas Sports Writers Association's Class A All-State Football Team.

Carlisle kicker <strong>Angel Garza</strong> and Mount Enterprise punter <strong>Ty Ham</strong> were both named to the first team. Mount Enterprise's <strong>Justin Johnson</strong> was also the first-team kick returner.

Garza, a junior, was 7 of 8 on field goals this season with a long of 42 yards. He also was 30 of 33 on extra points and had 14 touch backs on kickoffs.

Ham had 25 punts for an average of 41.2 yards, putting five in side the 20-yard line. Johnson had 16 returns for 660 yards and four touchdowns.

San Augustine receiver <strong>Dez Randle</strong>, Alto running back <strong>Jacolby Whitaker</strong> and Shelbyville fullback <strong>Octavion Burrell</strong> were also named to the first team.

Randle hauled in 65 catches for 1,380 yards and 21 touchdowns. Whitaker carried the ball 201 times for 1,702 yards and 30 touchdowns.

He also caught 11 passes for 179 yards and three scores.

Burrell rushed for 1,529 yards and 24 touchdowns on 165 carries.

Tenaha running back <strong>Chavis Gregory</strong>, Cayuga running back <strong>Keshawn Jackson</strong>, Alto center <strong>Armando Arroyo</strong>, Alto kicker <strong>Nicolas Leon</strong> and Tenaha defensive lineman Denzelle Williams were on the second team.

Detroit running back <strong>Toby Moss</strong>, Overton kicker <strong>Michael Phillips</strong> and <strong>James Bowie</strong> defensive back <strong>Cody Adams</strong> received third-team recognition.

There were also several East Texans named honorable mention – San Augustine quarter back <strong>Jamikel Roberts</strong>, Alto quarterback <strong>Zac Sturns</strong>, James Bowie running back <strong>Cody Adams</strong>, Carlisle all-purpose back <strong>Bryce McGowan</strong>, Overton defensive linemean <strong>Seth Garrett</strong>, Alto defensive lineman <strong>Tyarius Hackett</strong> and Alto linebacker <strong>Logan Smith</strong>.

Wellington running back <strong>Terry Gilbreath</strong> was named the Offensive Player of the Year. He rushed for 2,879 yards and 43 touchdowns on 213 carries for the Class A, Division II champion. He also had 30 catches for 586 yards and 10 touchdowns.

Wellington linebacker <strong>Edgar Tellez</strong> won Defensive Player of the Year. He recorded 210 tackles, 26 tackles for loss, seven sacks, 10 forced fumbles, four fumble recoveries and three interceptions.

Wellington's <strong>Wade Williams</strong> earned Coach of the Year honors after leading his team to a 14-0 record and the state title.



Powered By AdvocateDigitalMedia