Wednesday, October 18, 2017

Advertise with us

Carthage's Bogenschutz, Surratt take top honors on TSWA Class 3A All-State Football Team

By Jack Stallard
Feb. 13, 2014 at 11 p.m.

Blake Bogenschutz, who passed for more than 4,000 yards and put up the fifth best touchdown passing totals in state history in leading Carthage to a Class 3A Division I championship, shared Offensive Player of the Year honors on Thursday with the release of the 63rd annual Collin Street Bakery/Texas Sports Writers Association Class 3A All-State Football Team.

Bogenschutz shared top offensive honors with Fairfield's Larry Rose. Defensive Player of the Year honors went to Navasota defensive lineman Jordan Wells, while Carthage's Scott Surratt and Argyle's Todd Rodgers shared Coach of the Year honors.

The team was selected by TSWA members based on nominations from coaches and sports writers from around the state.

Bogenschutz completed 231 of 393 passes for 4,003 yards with 57 touchdowns and four interceptions while rushing for 446 yards and seven scores. Rose rushed for 2,979 yards and 51 touchdowns, and Wells finished with 40 tackles for losses and 31 quarterback pressures.

East Texas players earned seven spots on the first team, four on the second team and seven on the third team to go along with 19 honorable mention selections.

Joining Bogenschutz on the first team were Jasper center Terrell Cuney (graded out at 94 percent, 22 pancakes), Carthage guard Griffin Bankhead (graded out at 95 percent, no sacks allowed in 393 pass attempts), Carthage receiver Tee Goree (89 catches, 1,744 yards, 28 TD), Carthage defensive lineman Mario McCain (129 tackles, 25 tackles for loss, 30 QB pressures, 10 sacks, 18 QB hits), Kilgore defensive lineman Ladarrin Anthony (96 tackles, 12.5 sacks, 22 tackles for loss, 39 QB pressures, eight TFL, one blocked kick, five forced fumbles) and Athens defensive back Travon Fuller (53 tackles, seven interceptions, 17 blocked PATs, four blocked field goals and one fumble recovery).

Second team selections included Chapel Hill center Thad Bevis, Carthage guard Adrian Goodacre, Kilgore running back Kevrin Justice and Gilmer defensive back Devondrick Dixon.

Earning third team status were Gilmer offensive tackle Dylan Adkinson, Carthage receiver O'Keeron Rutherford, Carthage running back Tevin Pipkin, Gilmer kicker Pablin Olivares, Gladewater defensive lineman Daylon Mack, Chapel Hill defensive lineman Keith Minor, Gilmer linebacker Josh Walker and Gladewater defensive back Duke Gordon.

Honorable mention picks were Athens defensive tackle Juan Guzman, Palestine offensive tackle Brian Thlang, Carthage center Cade Clinton, Kilgore guard Clay Wiley, Kilgore tight end Jarod Wood, Chapel Hill receiver Gabriel Robinson, Gilmer quarterback Tanner Barr, Chapel Hill quarterback Andrew Black, Jasper running back Terrence Cuney, Athens running back Logan Fuller, Van running back Matt Savis, Carthage kicker Jimmy Gonzales, Van defensive lineman Brice Borgeson, Chapel Hill defensive lineman Shaquille Warren, Kilgore linebacker Jake Brantley, Jasper linebacker DeAnthony Cuney, Athens linebacker K.J. Cumby, Carthage linebacker James Marshall and Liberty-Eylau defensive back Davion Hall.

<em>(Follow Jack Stallard on Twitter: <a href="" target="_blank">@lnjsports</a>)</em>



Powered By AdvocateDigitalMedia