Friday, October 20, 2017

Advertise with us

East Texas athletes chosen to play in Roundup All-Star Game

By Brandon Ogden
March 14, 2014 at 10 p.m.

Several East Texans have been chosen to participate in the annual Texas Roundup All-Star Game today in Maypearl, including Tatum's Robbie Rockwell and Avinger's Jeremiaha Clark.

The event selects some of the top basketball seniors – 24 boys and 24 girls – in the entire state for Class A, Class 2A and Class 3A.

Rockwell hit 132 three-pointers this season and averaged 16.8 points per game to help lead Tatum to the Class 2A title game against Ponder. He also collected 2.1 steals per contest.

Rockwell has made exactly 300 three-pointers during the past two seasons.

"We've been blessed to have a lot of kids play in this game," Tatum head coach Brett Carr said. "It's a great honor. Another fortunate side is that it gives kids a chance to continue to get looked at by college coaches.

"It's also great exposure for the program. I also remind the kids in these events that they are representing the entire program."

Clark averaged 16 points and 12 rebounds per game for Avinger, which finished 26-3 after losing to Slidell – 71-65 in overtime – in the area round of the playoffs.

"For him, it's a huge honor," Avinger head coach Treston Dowell said. "When he came here as a sophomore from Seagoville, he was a shy kid with some skills, but he's really improved over the last three years.

"He's come out and worked hard, and it's turned into a chance to play in a big-time all-star game and maybe even a chance to play in college."

Other East Texas boys participating in the game are Laneville's Donta Harris, Athens' Anthony Sanders, Douglass' Bryce Westbrook, Alto's Zachris Sturns and Pleasant Grove's Cory Menah.

East Texas girls who will play in the event are Cushing's Mackenzie Tucker and Winnsboro's Danielle Mabry.

There is a three-point shootout scheduled for 1:30 p.m. The girls' game will tip off at 3 p.m., followed by the boys' contest.

(Follow Brandon Ogden on Twitter: @BrandonOSports)



Powered By AdvocateDigitalMedia