Saturday, January 20, 2018

Advertise with us

16-5A All-District Football Team: Texas High, Marshall take top honors

From Staff Reports
Dec. 16, 2017 at 11:13 p.m.

Texas High teammates Te'vailance Hunt and Leonard Parks were unanimous co-Most Valuable Player selections with the release of the District 16-5A All-District Football Team for 2017.

Hunt, a senior receiver who has given a verbal pledge to TCU, caught 61 passes for 1,152 yards and 17 touchdowns and carried 10 times for 123 yards and two scores for the Tigers this season.

Parks, who died in his sleep on Sept. 2, was honored posthumously. The senior defensive lineman had given a verbal pledge to SMU.

Other superlative honors went to Texas High quarterback Riley Russell (offensive MVP), Marshall's J.J. Green (offensive Newcomer of the Year), Marshall's Corteze Hurd (defensive MVP), Marshall's Champ Mathis (defensive Newcomer of the Year) and Marshall's Claude Mathis (Coach of the Year).

Selections were made by the district's coaches.


Quarterback: Caleb Jarvis, Greenville; Running back: Ro Smith, Marshall; Chris Sutton, Texas High; Treylin Lewis, Marshall; Fullback: Keshon Williams, Pine Tree; Receiver: Tahj Washington, Marshall; Dekendrick Bender, Marshall; Davon Coleman, Pine Tree; Simeon Taylor, Sulphur Springs; Dorian Glinton, Mount Pleasant; Voderic Stanley, Texas High; Tight end: Chandler Kelehan, Marshall; Line: Alex Thornburg, Pine Tree; Denny Foster, Pine Tree; Mose Jeffery, Pine Tree; Simon Rico, Greenville; Kameron King, Marshall; Chasen Hines, Marshall; Christian Hood, Marshall; Jesus Olivio, Sulphur Springs; Blake Trainor, Hallsville; Kicker: Juan Giminez, Pine Tree; Jacob Suarez, Marshall; Kick returner: Tahj Washington, Marshall.

Second Team

Quarterback: Wade Seidel, Pine Tree; Ryan Humphries, Sulphur Springs; Running back: Christian Dunson, Greenville; Colten Allen, Sulphur Springs; Fullback: Jose Garcia, Pine Tree; Logan Caton, Sulphur Springs; Receiver: J.J. Sparkman, Pine Tree; Trey Pruitt, Pine Tree; Nick Mapps, Greenville; Se'Lah Smith, Marshall; Austin Dodd, Sulphur Springs; Landry Tyson, Sulphur Springs; Chris Lyles, Texas High; Jaqualyn Brown, Texas High; Tight end: Tim Short, Pine Tree; Jashon Pogue, Mount Pleasant; Kendall Reid, Texas High; Line: Javae Writt, Pine Tree; Bailey Hughes, Pine Tree; Kayce Hurd, Marshall; Ryan Black, Marshall; Logan DeGarso, Greenville; Ethan Rogers, Sulphur Springs; Solomon Davis, Texas High; Elian Bustos, Texas High; Mason Shoalmire, Texas High; Quenton Toney, Mount Pleasant; Kicker: Koltin McNair, Greenville; Angel Tavera, Sulphur Springs; Kick returner: Tracy Cooper, Texas High.


Line: Gary Wiley, Pine Tree; Kalvin Hutchings, Pine Tree; JaQuon Lyons, Greenville; Marje Smith, Marshall; Eddie Silas, Marshall; D'Idrec Dugan, Sulphur Springs; Jaylin Franklin, Texas High; Dejonte Harper, Texas High; Deidrick Reeves, Texas High; Inside linebacker: Quentin Freeman, Pine Tree; Brevin Randle, Marshall; K.J. Abron, Sulphur Springs; Edher Oviedo, Mount Pleasant; Davon Williams, Texas High; Outside linebacker: Jimmy Enriquez, Greenville; De'Trevion Macon, Marshall; Kylan Wade, Sulphur Springs; Tim Noble, Texas High; Tyke Fluellen, Mount Pleasant; Safety: JaKwan Allen, Greenville; Koltin McNair, Greenville; Jalyn Stewart, Texas High; Cornerback: Demarcus Alexander, Marshall; Joquan Bass, Marshall; Terrell Thurman, Sulphur Springs; Elias Thurman, Texas High; Punter: Jacob Suarez, Marshall; Punt returner: Tahj Washington, Marshall; Von Derrick Stanley, Texas High.

Second Team

Line: Tyler Williams, Pine Tree; Keith Burkes, Pine Tree; Cecil Johnson, Hallsville; Rashard Jackson, Marshall; Jamiquai Smith-Hall, Marshall; Omar Acuna, Marshall; Tucker Momon, Greenville; Calvin Eckert, Sulphur Springs; Jose' Rodriguez, Sulphur Springs; Inside linebacker: Sam Martinez, Greenville; Christian Lovera, Marshall; Jaxon Reneau, Sulphur Springs; Chris Arnold, Texas High; Outside linebacker: Rhine Ellis, Pine Tree; Jerry Davis, Marshall; Keidrick Reeves, Texas High; Jeremiah Abrego, Greenville; Safety: Micah Gibson, Pine Tree; Marcus Bledsoe, Marshall; Sabastin Adams, Sulphur Springs; Terrance Allen, Mount Pleasant; Cornerback: Jatavian Easley, Pine Tree; Trevor Wilson, Pine Tree; Derrick Jamison, Marshall; Damiyon Dugan, Sulphur Springs; Darrell Webster, Texas High; Punter: Jermond Bryant-Amos, Sulphur Springs; Punt returner: Donovan Smith, Greenville.


Quarterback: Coltin Clack, Texas High; Semaj Boyd, Hallsville; Josh Morris, Mount Pleasant; Running back: Trakeci Cooper, Texas High; Tylan Hines, Mount Pleasant; Searn Rodgers, Sulphur Springs; Receiver: Kobe Webster, Texas High; Mason Jones, Texas High; JoJo Brown, Mount Pleasant; Jackson Sickels, Greenville; Carter Mulkey, Greenville; Tight end: Clint Lapic, Hallsville; Line: Erick Rosas, Pine Tree; Hayden Shelton, Pine Tree; Dylan Russell, Hallsville; Ladd Preston, Texas High; Carl Oliver, Texas High; Deandre Brown, Texas High; Chris Clauel, Mount Pleasant; Trevor Angel, Greenville; Norris English, Sulphur Springs; Ian Blanch, Sulphur Springs; Kicker: Seth Morgan, Hallsville.


Line: Terran Allen, Pine Tree; Deshaun Fletcher, Pine Tree; Tanner Morris, Hallsville; Buddy McGill, Mount Pleasant; Antonio Cortez, Greenville; Nick Hazlett, Greenville; Vuk Susic, Sulphur Springs; Sean Roberts, Marshall; Marcus Jones, Marshall; Inside linebacker: Josh Taylor, Hallsville; Nate Humphreys, Hallsville; Jaylon Matlock, Texas High; Outside linebacker: Tristan Driggers, Hallsville; Darrell Maxwell, Texas High; K.J. Cannon, Mount Pleasant; Cason Churchman, Sulphur Springs; Safety: Marquavious Fisher, Texas High; D.J. Abron, Sulphur Springs; Austin Dodd, Sulphur Springs; Cornerback: Xavius Ventimiglia, Hallsville; Daniel Landeverde, Mount Pleasant; Christopher Dunson, Greenville; Z'marqueiz Johnson, Greenville; Punter: Logan Snell, Texas High.



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia