Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Advertise with us

ET Volleyball: Four players land first-team TSWA all-state honors

By Jack Stallard , Jack Stallard
Dec. 23, 2017 at 10:12 p.m.

Hallsville's Addison McDermott, New Diana's Katelyn Easley, Carlisle's Heather Craig and Gary's Leann Youngblood headed up a large contingent of area players honored on the Texas Sports Writers Association All-State Volleyball Teams for the 2017 season.

McDermott (Calss 5A) and Easley (Class 3A), middle blockers, and Craig (2A) and Youngblood (2A), outside hitters, were first team selections.

The area also landed four second team picks, nine third team selections and 32 honorable mention selections on the elite squad.

The team was selected by TSWA members based on nominations from coaches and media members from around the state.

McDermott finished the year with 468 kills, 243 digs, 43 aces and 105 blocks and was named the defensive Most Valuable Player in District 16-5A.

Easley racked up 450 kills, 99 blocks, 208 digs, 32 aces and 19 assists for regional semifinalist New Diana. Craig recorded 614 kills, 411 digs, 83 aces and 34 blocks, and Youngblood was her district's MVP after recording 508 kills, 513 digs and 108 aces.

Second team picks from the area were Beckville setter Kinley Pepper in Class 3A, Carlisle middle blocker Aubrey Hart and Gary setter Taylor Rodgers in Class 2A and Leverett's Chapel middle blocker Yesenia Avalos in Class A.

Earning third team accolades were Hallsville setter Ashley Jones and Texas High outside hitter Treyaunna Rush in 5A, Spring Hill outside hitter Kristen Stuart, Tatum middle blocker Ashton Brown and Carthage libero Courtney Edge in 4A, Beckville middle blocker Riley Seegers and Mount Vernon middle blocker Bailey Thomas in 3A, Timpson outside hitter Jasmine Rogers in 2A and Leverett's Chapel setter Gracie Bathke in Class A.



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia