Sunday, February 25, 2018

LeTourneau aviation wins scholarships

By Special to the News-Journal
March 15, 2017 at 4:30 a.m.

LeTourneau University Aviation student pilot Amanda Scott, left, and Certified Flight Instructor Lee Foster  look over the Cessna Skyhawk 172S under a routine 100-hour maintenance check Wednesday at LETU Abbott Aviation Center in Lakeport.

LeTourneau University aviation faculty Laura Laster and students Cecilia Kim and Abigail Lopez have been awarded scholarships totaling over $12,500 from Women in Aviation at the WIA international conference in Orlando, Florida, recently.

Laster, who is LETU's director of flight operations, was awarded the $10,000 Air Wisconsin ATP-CTP Scholarship for classroom and simulator training required to be eligible to take Airline Transport Pilot knowledge test. The training is provided by Air Wisconsin to four lucky winners from flight programs around the country.

Kim, won the $2,500 Christine Reed Memorial Scholarship to be used toward flight training.

Lopez won the $1,000 Sporty's Tool Scholarship from the Association for Women in Aviation Maintenance. The funds are to be used to purchase tools for her work as an aircraft maintenance technician.

Women in Aviation International is a nonprofit organization encouraging and advancing women in aviation career fields and interests.



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia