Saturday, February 17, 2018

15-4A Basketball: Gilmer's Ray, Brooks share top honors

By Staff Reports
March 20, 2017 at 10:46 p.m.

Gilmer's Destiny Brooks makes a move past Chapel Hill's Daija Maddox, on Tuesday February 23, 2016, during their game in Pine Tree's Pirate Center. (Michael Cavazos/News-Journal Photo)

The duo of Belynda Ray and Destiny Brooks led the Gilmer Lady Buckeyes to the regional semifinals. They were rewarded as Co-MVPs of District 15-4A, as voted on by league coaches.

In addition to Ray and Brooks, Meshia Shead earned Newcomer of the Year for the Lady Buckeyes, while Gilmer coach Mandi Simpson garnered Coach of the Year.

Bullard's Hannah Lloyd was top offensive player and Chapel Hill's Kyla Moore top defensive.

Here's a breakdown of first and second team honorees:

First Team

Gilmer: Kyla Grant, Kahirya Williams; Bullard: Allie Kirgan, Lauren Zachry, Sydney Foster, Abby Story; Chapel Hill: MyKaela Alfred, April Walker; Kilgore: Jamaria Thomas; Spring Hill: Jayla Landrum; Gladewater: Kianna Hamilton

Second Team

Gilmer: Augusta Hampton, Meci Griffin, Brianna Burns; Chapel Hill: Ty'liyah Moore, Natalya Overshown; Kilgore: Jada Abercrombie, Alexis Gaitan; Spring Hill: Lacey White, Kayla Crowe; Gladewater: Annie Oliver, Farren Lincoln

Honarable Mention

Gilmer: Kennedi Wilson; Bullard: Abby Ehrman, Chloe Ducote; Chapel Hill: Brittley Maddox, Aubrey Elder; Kilgore: Tianna Holland, Tatyanna Norris, Taylor Bradshaw; Spring Hill: Ashlee Blake; Gladewater: Dejanique Gordon, Jaraysha Miller

Academic All-District

Gilmer: Belynda Ray, Destiny Brooks, Kyla Grant, Kahriya Williams, Mecii Griffin, Kennedi Wilson, Meshia Shead, Augusta Hampton, Brianna Burns; Bullard: Allie Kirgan, Lauren Zachry, Sydney Foster, Abby Story, Hannah Lloyd, Abby Ehrman, Chloe Ducote; Chapel Hill: Mykaela Alfred, Aubrey Elder, Victoria McClay, Kyia Moore, Ti'Liya Moore, Natalya Overshown, April Walker; Kilgore: Tianna Holland, Alexis Gaitan, Taylor Bradshaw, Mariya Mitchell, Ja'Neece Mumphrey, Tatyana Norris, Jamaria Thomas, Jada Abercrombie; Spring Hill: Jayla Landrum, Ashlee Blake, Karlie Smith, Tyler Newman; Gladewater: Dejanique Gordon, Ceara Latson, Tambrea Lee, Braionne Roberts



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia