Sunday, February 18, 2018

Area well represented on TSWA 3A all-state football squad

From Staff Reports
Feb. 7, 2018 at 10:18 p.m.

New Diana receiver T.J. Rogers, Beckville kicker Carlos Campos, Jefferson defensive lineman Eric Gipson and Arp defensive back and kick returner Demarvion Overshown headed up a large contingent of area players selected to the Collin Street Bakery/Texas Sports Writers Association Class 3A All-State Football Team on Wednesday.

Rogers, Campos, Gipson and Overshown were first team selections on the elite team, which also included seven second teams picks from the area, three third team picks and 18 honorable mention honorees.

The team was selected by TSWA members based on nominations from media members and coaches from around the state.

Rogers caught 104 passes for 1,713 yards and 23 touchdowns for New Diana in 2017. Campos connected on 47 of 48 extra points and 13 of 14 field goals, with a long off 46 yards and five field goals of 40 yards or longer. Gipson recorded 137 tackles, 10 sacks, 25 tackles for loss, two forced fumbles, a fumble recovery, an interception return for a touchdown and nine quarterback pressures.

Overshown, a first team pick at defensive back and kick returner, had 142 tackles, five sacks, five interceptions, 14 tackles for loss, four forced fumbles, two fumble recoveries and 13 passes broken up on defense while returning six punts for touchdowns and having five other TD returns called back due to penalties.

Player of the Year honors went to Rockdale quarterback Torry Locklin and Newton linebacker Corbin Foster. Locklin completed 170 of 311 passes for 2,565 yards and 27 touchdowns with eight interceptions while rushing for 2,481 yards and 32 scores. Foster finished with 240 tackles, 34 tackles for loss, five sacks, three forced fumbles and five fumble recoveries.

Coach of the Year was Rockdale's Jeff Miller.

Earning second team honors from the area were Harmony guard Conner Henson, New Diana receiver and punter Cody Payton, New Diana quarterback Jackson Sampson, Hughes Springs fullback Tradarian Craver, White Oak defensive lineman Elijah Trest and Harmony defensive back Konrad Eichelman.

Harmony running bak Barrett Hill, West Rusk linebacker Tyree Wilson and Sabine linebacker Kobe Renfro were third team selections.

Honorable mention honors went to Elysian Fields offensive tackle Jade Ashalintubbi, New Diana guard Matt Brunson, Hughes Springs guard Zachary Pilgrim, Jefferson guard Dylan Polver, Waskom guard Jack Smith, Hughes Springs center Harrison Reagan, Elysian Fields receiver Cole Myers, White Oak running back Bo Reddic, Waskom running back T.K. Hamilton, Hughes Springs defensive lineman Hunter Brabham, West Rusk defensive linemen Darrien Johnson and Matthew Davidson, Jefferson defensive lineman Taylor Smith, New Diana linebacker Cole Willeford, Beckville defensive back Stephen darden, Daingerfield defensive back Reggie Jeter and Jefferson defensive backs Kepha Luster and Trace Smith.



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia