Kilgore ISD board approves high school security upgrades

Kilgore ISD Interim Superintendent Mike Morrison said security upgrades that school board trustees approved Tuesday for Kilgore High School will allow staff members to lock and unlock doors using an electronic system inside the school.

KILGORE — Former Gladewater ISD Superintendent Mike Morrison was appointed as Kilgore ISD’s interim superintendent Friday night.

A three-person committee interviewed several candidates this week, and after a 35-minute executive session at a special meeting of the board of trustees Friday, trustee Trey Hattaway recommended to hire Morrison “until a full-time replacement is named.”

Board members voted unanimously in favor of hiring Morrison, except for trustee Alan Clark, who was absent.

Morrison’s appointment came after Superintendent Cara Cooke resigned July 20 to take an interim superintendent post at Aransas Pass ISD.

“Mrs. Cooke has done a lot of good things here,” Morrison said. “I just want to make sure Kilgore keeps doing well, and I hope to be a part of that. If I can help make it better than it’s been, I’m excited about that.”

Morrison retired from Gladewater ISD in December 2008 and returned briefly as interim superintendent in 2017.

He graduated from Hawkins ISD before continuing his education at Tyler Junior College and East Texas Baptist University. Morrison began his career in education in 1977 as a teacher and coach at Marshall ISD.

He also has held administrative roles in Garrison ISD and Jefferson ISD. He joined Gladewater ISD as an assistant superintendent and replaced then-district head Guy Yarborough in January 2006.

“Some people may think that (when) you’re retired, you just want to stay retired. I like to stay active,” he said. “I’m not trying to become their permanent superintendent, but I’m going to be the superintendent until the day changes when I’m not.”



Brittany Michelle Williams, a University of Arkansas alumna, serves East Texas as an education reporter at the News-Journal. She won Arkansas Press Association and Arkansas AP Media Editors awards for her work in El Dorado, Arkansas.