MARSHALL — The Marshall City Commission doesn’t want to wait until the May election to fill the District 2 seat that became vacant with the November resignation of Gail Beil. Beil died Jan. 8.

After a 4-1 vote last week, the commission decided to accept applications to fill Beil’s unexpired term.

Applications will be available from the city of Marshall City Clerk’s Office on the second floor at 401 S. Alamo St. The deadline to apply is 5 p.m. Jan. 24. Applicants must be age 21 or older and have been a resident of District 2 for 12 months, according to the city of Marshall charter.

The vote to accept applications came after District 5 Commissioner Vernia Calhoun moved to appoint Leo Morris in the position until the May election. But the move failed in a 2-3 vote with Mayor Terri Brown, Commissioners Doug Lewis and Amy Ware voting against it. District 6 Commissioner Larry Hurta was absent.

Calhoun said she recommended Morris because he was the only other candidate, besides Beil, who campaigned for the seat during the election last May.

According to city officials, the boundaries of District 2 are: West Grand Boulevard, Morrison Street, South Allen Street, Pemberton Street, Billups Street, Texas 43 South, West and East Pinecrest Drive, U.S. 59 South, East Travis Street and South and North Alamo Street.